London’s official political jurisdictions are parishes, wards, and liberties. Early modern texts also talk about areas that we might call neighbourhoods. They do not lend themselves to being mapped on the Agas map platform underlying The Map of Early Modern London because they do not have clear boundaries. However, they were significant to the early modern imagination and are mentioned throughout the texts we cite. These areas encompass many features of the streetscape and landscape, and often cross jurisdictional boundaries. The following list will be expanded as MoEML’s other pages make reference to neighbourhoods.
Title Points on Agas Map Article status
Bermondsey Empty
East Smithfield C8  Stub
Greenwich   Empty
Shoreditch A6  Empty
Southwark D7  Empty
Suburb Without the Wall B7 B8 C8  Empty
Westminster Empty